Fence, Spring/Summer 2009

cover

I’m reading the Spring/Summer issue of Fence, which includes a new piece by Gregg Bordowitz and me. There is a wonderful discussion of “non-realist fiction” by Kate Bernheimer, Brian Everson, Laird Hunt, Joyelle McSweeney, and Eric Lorberer. The conversation reminds me of ones that come up in the (usually separate) contexts for art and film– ones where the truth claims of realism are shown to have limits. It’s somehow familiar to me or recognizable, but also feels fundamentally informed by a different history. And the rest of the issue is full of the kind of work that this conversation points toward; I especially liked Colin Bassett‘s “How to Make Something Serious Into a Funny Joke and Then Back Into Something Serious Again.”

About this entry